Metallica: The Ultimate Thrash Metal Band


Los Angeles was the place where James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich formed the legendary metallic band of all times, i.e., Metallica. Little did they would have known that the American band formed in 1981 would be one of the most successful bands in the history of music.

Though founded in Los Angeles, the band’s powerhouse was mostly San Francisco. It was recognised with the ‘Big Four’ thrash metal bands of all times along with Megadeth, Anthrax, and Slayer. Its signature fast tempo and aggressive riffs were classified as a sub-genre, speed metal.

Metal Band

Metallica was inspired by the Punk style of rock music which represents an ideology of teen rebellion and is characterised as sarcastic and belligerent. Its website mentions the members of the current band including: –

  • James Hetfield- Main songwriter, guitarist, and lead vocalist.
  • Lars Ulrich- Drummer
  • Kirk Hammett- Guitarist and singer
  • Robert Trujillo- Bassist and singer

Its old members are: –

  • Dave Mustaine- Lead Guitarist now a member of Megadeth
  • Ron McGovney- Original bassist
  • Cliff Burton- the Bassist, died in a bus accident in Sweden in 1986
  • Jason Newsted- Bassist and vocals

Metallica: The Ultimate Thrash Metal Band

After recording Kill Them All in 1983 and Ride the Lightning in 1984 for MegaForce Records and Elektra, the band defied the conventional notion of hard rock. The most fascinating and critically track from the second album being the nine-minute long instrumental ‘Call of Ktulu’.

They tasted commercial success in Master of Puppets in 1986 regarded as one of the heaviest metal albums of all time. The album sold three million copies despite not being able to garner the support of the broadcast radio. Critics claim two songs ‘Battery’ and ‘Damage’ as masterpieces. It was during a bus tour of Master of Puppets in Sweden where Burton was killed in Stockholm after being thrown out of the bus in the accident.

The gang returned home and hired Flotsam and Jetsam bassist Jason Newsted to fill in the shoes of Burton. The new members debuted with the band in 1988 Justice for All which earned Metallica their first Grammy Award nomination. The group produced a video for ‘One’ that was a part of the new album and Antiwar Anthem. The song became their top 40 songs and played back-to-back on MTV.

new album and Antiwar Anthem

The Black Album or Metallica was released in 1991 in which the band experimented in deviating from extreme thrash metal and accepted into the mainstream. The legendry critical and commercial success of the album established them as youth icons with songs like ‘Enter Sandman’, ‘The Unforgiven’, and ‘Sad but True’. The album sold over 16 million copies in the US and was acclaimed as the best selling album of the SouthScan era.

The band experimented in Load and Reload with southern rock and returned to their original genre with Death Magnetic in 2008. After a year the band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The band was won 9 Grammy’s and 23 nominations. It has sold over 125 million copies worldwide making it the most successful thrash metal band.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.